Updated on 15/08/2017 21:52
Professional Darts Corporation

World Matchplay 2017

Winter Gardens, Blackpool
From: Saturday 22 July 2017
Till: Sunday 30 July 2017
Prize money:
  1. £115,000
  2. £55,000
  3. £30,000
  4. Q/F £17,500
  5. Last 16 £11,000
  6. Last 32 £7,000
  1. Total: £500,000

The 2017 World Matchplay was held from 22 to 30 July. Phil Taylor finishes his World Matchplay career with his sixteenth title in Blackpool.

In the first round, seven seeded players get knocked out. James Wade loses his first game for the second consecutive year; This time against Darren Webster after a nervy tie-break. Scottish ace Gary Anderson and Spain’s Cristo Reyes are the only two players responsible for a 100+ average in the first round.

A round later, the classic between Phil Taylor and Raymond van Barneveld is on the program. Taylor, who plays his last tournament in Blackpool, once again produces his best against his eternal rival. 'The Power' wins with clear figures: 11-3. Daryl Gurney, who has played excellent recently beats, in a high-scoring match, Gary Anderson 11-9. Alan Norris also produces an upset by defeating Dave Chisnall with 14-12.

The quarterfinals are spectacular: Daryl Gurney reaches the semifinals for the first time after a 16-13 win against the world’s number seven; Mensur Suljovic. With the same scoreline, Adrian Lewis beats Alan Norris. Peter Wright also has his fair share of trouble: he eventually wins against Darren Webster 16-12 after the Englishman misses opportunities for a big lead.

The biggest sensation is the victory of Phil Taylor over Michael van Gerwen. The old maestro has been sharp from the start and does not let the titleholder get into rhythm. Van Gerwen suffers a rare 16-6 defeat and loses his title after two years.

Due to the elimination of Van Gerwen, all four semi-finalists feel that they can get the title this year. Peter Wright reaches the final first after a difficult 17-15 win over Daryl Gurney. Phil Taylor adds another big name to his impressive series of defeated players: after Gerwyn Price, Raymond van Barneveld and Michael van Gerwen, he also beats Adrian Lewis and will play his seventeenth final in Blackpool.

That final gets the dreamy result. Taylor, who plays his last 107th and last match ever in Blackpool, has control throughout the match and after an 8-6 score he pushes on for an 18-8 win. With this win "The Power" has won a major tournament for the first time since November 2014. He ends his Blackpool career with 99 wins and only eight losses in 24 years.

Played finals