Updated on 22/08/2017 19:37
Professional Darts Corporation

World Grand Prix 2008

CityWest Hotel, Dublin
From: Monday 6 October 2008
Till: Sunday 12 October 2008
Prize money:
  1. £50,000
  2. £25,000
  3. £14,500
  4. Q/F £10,000
  5. Last 16 £6,750
  6. Last 32 £3,250
Other prize money:
  1. High finish £0
  2. Total: £250,000

Phil Taylor in 2008 does what he has always done; win! Taylor has never not won the trophy in Ireland for two consecutive years and 2008 is no exception. On his way to the final he only lost one set. In the final Raymond van Barneveld cannot really make a fist either, the result is 6-2.

Defending champion James Wade cannot enjoy his title in Dublin for long. He loses in the first round to Tony Eccles. He was the only seeded player who didn’t survive the first round. But it must be said that in 2008 there was only one man who could claim the title. Phil Taylor reigns supreme and no one comes close to him. His tournament average is close to 100 per throw that is in the double in, double out system. The only one who stay close to The Power is Raymond van Barneveld. Although the result of 2-6 in the finals perhaps indicates a unilateral party, it is anything but. Five of the eight sets end in 3-2, Barney wins only one of those sets.

Played finals