Updated on 22/08/2017 19:36
Professional Darts Corporation

World Grand Prix 2004

CityWest Hotel, Dublin
From: Monday 18 October 2004
Till: Sunday 24 October 2004
Prize money:
  1. £20,000
  2. £10,000
  3. £6,000
  4. Q/F £4,000
  5. Last 16 £2,250
  6. Last 32 £1,500
Other prize money:
  1. High finish £3,000
  2. Total: £103,000

When the tournament returns to Dublin in the autumn of 2004, Phil Taylor of course is again the big favourite. He had already won the World Championship and the World Matchplay that year and it seemed no one could stop him. Yet that happens when qualifier Andy Callaby has the day of his life, and beats The Power in the first round 2-0. When the numbers two and six of the world, John Part and Wayne Mardle, also lose in the first round, the tournament is completely open. 

Callaby will not only beat Phil Taylor in 2004, Dennis Priestley is his second scalp in the second round. The fairy tale of Callaby ends in the quarterfinals when Alan Warriner beats him. It will eventually be the number three in the world who wins the tournament. Colin Lloyd takes his first major TV title and is crowned World Grand Prix champion in 2004 by beating Alan Warriner in the final.

In particular, the semi-finals of 2004 are spectacular. Both are decided in the eleventh and deciding set. Alan Warriner beats Steve Beaton and Colin Lloyd beats Ronnie Baxter.

Played finals