Updated on 08/10/2017 15:34
Professional Darts Corporation

World Grand Prix

Upcoming season 2018:
  • {dn} {dl}
  • {hn} {hl}
  • {mn} {ml}
  • {sn} {sl}
From: Sunday 30 September 2018
Till: Saturday 6 October 2018
Reigning champion:
Reigning champion of World Grand Prix 2017
Photographer: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

In 1998 the World Grand Prix appears on the PDC calendar for the first time. At first the tournament took the place of the World Pairs championship on the calendar. After the World Championships and the World Matchplay it’s the third regular television tournament on the circuit. First held in Rochester England in 1998 and 1999, but since it’s synonymous with Ireland. The event moved to Ireland in 2000. Via Roslare (2000) it has been held annually in Dublin’s CityWest Hotel since 2001.

Since the tournament moved to Ireland in 2000 until 2016 Irish and Northern Irish players get a chance to qualify into the first round proper. Special to this event is you not only finish but also have to start on a double. Most successful player is, not surprisingly, Phil Taylor winning the title no less than 11 times. Only James Wade (2007 & 2010) and Michael van Gerwen (2012, 2014 & 2016) have won the title more than once. Alan Warriner in 2001, Colin Lloyd in 2005, Robert Thornton in 2015 and Daryl Gurney in 2017 have proved capable of hitting the doubles all week long.

The only players to have ever completed a perfect nine dart finish in this double start, double finish format in Dublin are Northern Irelands Brendan Dolan who does it in 2011. James Wade and Robert Thornton both hit one in 2014, remarkably so they both do so in a match against each other.

Played finals