Updated on 22/08/2017 19:32
British Darts Organisation

World Darts Trophy Men 2007

Vechtsebanen, Utrecht
From: Saturday 1 September 2007
Till: Sunday 9 September 2007
Prize money:
  1. €45,000
  2. €22,500
  3. €11,250
  4. Q/F €6,000
  5. Last 16 €3,000
  6. Last 32 €2,000
Other prize money:
  1. High finish €2,000
  2. Total: €172,000

For the first time a Scotsman won the World Darts Trophy in 2007. It turned out to be the last edition of this tournament. Gary Anderson played a magnificent final against Phil Taylor, who threw darts at his very best as well. Averaging over a hundred per three darts, Anderson defeated The Power 7-3.

After defeating Wayne Atwood in the first round, Anderson saw off John Part, Peter Manley and Andy Hamilton before claiming the title in the final. Taylor beat Mervyn King in the semi-final and sent home Terry Jenkins, Roland Scholten and Vincent van der Voort in earlier rounds.

The Dutchmen disappointed at the 2007 edition, because none of them managed to reach the quarterfinals. Jelle Klaasen did not stand a chance against Andy Hamilton at the last sixteen, Scholten lost to Taylor and men like Van Barneveld (lost to Klaasen), Van Gerwen (defeated by Manley) and Stompé (beaten by Jenkins) did not survive round one.