Updated on 15/08/2017 21:52
British Darts Organisation

World Darts Trophy Men

Reigning champion:
Reigning champion of World Darts Trophy Men 2007
Photographer: Hans Willink

After the big successes of Raymond van Barneveld including winning multiple BDO World Championships, the Netherlands organises its own World Championship equivalent in 2002, the World Darts Trophy. The tournament would eventually get six editions, all held in the ice rink Vechtsebanen Utrecht in September. Barney himself and his manager were responsible for the start of this tournament. The Van Barneveld move from the BDO to the PDC would eventually herald the end of the tournament.

Raymond van Barneveld was the only player to win the tournament twice in 2003 and 2004. Gary Anderson plays a legendary final in 2007 against Phil Taylor. The Scot wins 7-3 as both players average above the 100 mark, which is exceptional in that time.