Updated on 17/11/2017 14:29
World Darts Federation

WDF World Cup Men Teams 2005

HBF (Challenge) Stadium, Perth
From: Wednesday 28 September 2005
Till: Saturday 1 October 2005

The World Cup is held since 1977 and organised by the World Darts Federation. The tournament is opened for ladies in 1983 and in 1999 the youth is also finally invited. The tournament is known as the official World Championship but hasn’t got the profile of either the BDO or the PDC World Championships. It is a gathering of players from all parts of the World who meet and play in a very friendly atmosphere.

It should be no surprise that in the team event, the men from England often run off with the gold, though they are less dominant than in other events, with twelve victories, especially in recent years. They win as many as nine times in the first thirteen events. Wales wins in addition to the first edition the team title in 1997. Other successful countries are the USA; twice champions (1985 & 2003) and the Netherlands, Finland, Canada and Scotland are all the best once.

Three players won this event five times as part of their national team; Eric Bristow, John Lowe and Martin Adams.

Played finals