Updated on 24/10/2017 12:28
World Darts Federation

WDF World Cup Men Teams 1997

Burswood Resort, Perth
From: Wednesday 1 October 1997
Till: Saturday 4 October 1997

After Brisbane, Queensland in 1985 the World Cup darts goes "Down Under" for the second time this time to Perth in Western Australia. The long trip to the southern hemisphere means there are a lot fewer countries than two years previously in Basel, Switzerland. But with 26 countries, the organizers cannot complain, as all the top countries are present for this event.

In the team event, there are no surprises in the group stages. In the eighth finals we do get the first surprise as hosts Australia (Wayne Weening, Steve Duke, Peter Hinkley, Graham Hunt) lose to France (Serge Farrando, Saillour Laurent, Stephane Dalancon, Christian Le Borgne).

In the quarterfinal England (Martin Adams, Ronnie Baxter, Andy Fordham and Steve Beaton) win easily against Norway (Arne Sivertsen, Roy Trevland, Stein Trondsen and Helmer Thor Johansen) 9-1. The Netherlands (Raymond van Barneveld, Roland Scholten, Co Stompé and Hessel Stick) beat team USA (Paul Lim, Jim Widmayer, Roger Carter and Jason Lucas) in an exciting duel 9-7. Wales (Sean Palfrey, Martin Phillips, James Marshall and Eric Burden beat Scotland (Bob Taylor, Peter Johnstone, Andy Wallace and Alan Brown) 9-4 and Finland (Marko Kantele, Ulf Ceder, Markus Jokikokko and Risto Sundgren) who had defeated Belgium in the eighth finals now beat the "Aussie killers"; France.

In the semi-finals England and The Netherlands fought a fierce battle which was narrowly won by England 9-8. In the other semi-final Wales found little resistance from the brave Finns as they beat them 9-4. Wales, which by now was already sure of the overall title, definitely wanted revenge after they had lost this event 9-4 two years ago against their old enemy, England.

The final was level until 3-3, but then Wales took a small lead courtesy of Sean Palfrey who beat Martin Adams and Martin Phillips who defeated Steve Beaton. Andy Fordham, England's best player at that moment, reduced the Wales’ lead to 5-4. Eric Burden and James Marshall then bring the score back to 7-4. England comes back when Ronnie Baxter wins his leg, but then Eric Burden defeats Steve Beaton. One more leg for Wales and the title is theirs. James Marshall is close to a 12 darter for the title, but Fordham wins the leg to close the gap to 8-6. Now the two captains of both teams take the stage against each other, Martin Phillips for Wales and England’s Martin Adams. In a fierce and exciting duel it’s Martin Phillips who finishes 60 (17 darts) with Adams left on 41. Wales takes the deciding leg in the team event. This year the roles were reversed and Wales win the team event 9-6.

Played finals