Updated on 17/11/2017 14:13
World Darts Federation

WDF World Cup Men Pairs 2005

HBF (Challenge) Stadium, Perth
From: Wednesday 28 September 2005
Till: Saturday 1 October 2005

The World Cup is held since 1977 and organised by the World Darts Federation. The tournament is opened for ladies in 1983 and in 1999 the youth is also finally invited. The tournament is known as the official World Championship but hasn’t got the profile of either the BDO or the PDC World Championships. It is a gathering of players from all parts of the World who meet and play in a very friendly atmosphere.

In the early years, it is mainly the English who dominate led by John Lowe and Eric Bristow. In the pairs they are almost unbeatable, from the first seven editions they win six. Besides these victories there are six more England wins, so that their total is twelve. Martin Adams is the best three times, with three different pairs partners.

Besides England, the Netherlands wins the most gold. Three times the men in orange claim the title. Wales and Australia both win two titles and Canada is the champion in 1993.

Played finals