Updated on 15/08/2017 21:56
World Darts Federation

WDF World Cup Men Pairs 1991

Gran Dorado, Zandvoort
From: Thursday 3 October 1991
Till: Saturday 5 October 1991

World Cup VIII was held from 2 till 5 October 1991 in the Dutch seaside town of Zandvoort. No lees than 32 countries were present at the oche in the men’s event, which was a record. Among those 32 countries were five debuting countries; Russia, Luxembourg, Greece, Austria and the African Uganda.

In the pairs tournament we find no English pair in the semi-finals, something that had never happened before at the World Cup. The duo Alan Warriner and Phil Taylor lost 4-0 in the first round to the Finns Kexi Heinaharju and Aulis Nissinen. The ‘royal’ pairing of John Lowe and Eric Bristow, who had dominated the pairs event since 1977 (sevenfold finalists and six times World Cup champions pairs), lost 4-1 in the quarter finals to the Australians Keith Sullivan and Wayne Weening.

Both England beating duos proceeded to the semi-finals. The Aussies faced the Welsh pair Eric Burden and Martin Phillips, with a 4-0 win they qualified easily for the final. The Finnish duo lost a thrilling semi-final Belgian pair Frans Devooght and Jean-Marie Dejonghe. Belgium was 3-2 up when Devooght was given the opportunity to finish from 40. However, the tension was so high that Frans made a mistake. He finished 97, the previous score of Jean Marie. The Finns made good use of this and levelled at 3-3. Fortunately Devooght and Dejonghe were not off balance too much by this and still won the last leg thus reaching the final.

In the final the Australians took a 1-0 lead in 17 darts. The Belgian pair responded with two 14 dart legs to take the lead at 2-1. The Aussies still went on to win the match by taking the next three legs in 17, 21 and 15 darts. Thus Keith Sullivan and Wayne Weening became the first non-English World Cup Pairs Champions.

Played finals