Updated on 15/08/2017 21:56
World Darts Federation

WDF World Cup Ladies Pairs 1993

Sahara Hotel, Las Vegas
From: Wednesday 13 October 1993
Till: Saturday 16 October 1993

World Cup IX was played for the second time in history in the largest gambling city in the world; Las Vegas. In the ladies World Cup 26 countries competed at the start of their sixth World Cup Darts.

In the ladies pairs event the countries were divided into groups for the first time. In a round-robin they all played each other in the group. The top two pairs from each group qualified for the last 16 where the knocked-out phase started. In the last sixteen was one big surprise. Kenya (Lucy Jemtai and Mary Njogu) qualified for the quarterfinals by beating Republic of Ireland (Joan Flynn and Sharon O'Brien) 4-1.

The Kenyan ladies produced a lot of good scores, but had some problems on the doubles otherwise they certainly would have been closer in the quarterfinals where the ladies from Kenya were defeated 4-1 by Wales (Greatbatch & Speed). The Finns won the Scandinavian battle 4-2 over Denmark. The Dutch duo Hoenselaar & Maytum had to work hard to beat the ladies from the USA, Maloney & Bromberg. Their fanatical fans supported team USA, but the Orange ladies eventually won it. The English pair Solomons & Talbot did not have it easy either against the Australian players Forwood & Clarke, but narrowly won 4-3. I

n the semi-finals the English ladies defeated the ladies from Wales 4-3. The Dutch tandem had experienced less difficulty in their semi-final and beat Finland (Jussila & Levans) 4-1. In the final, the English ladies led 2-0 after legs in 19 and 16 darts, but the next three legs went to the Netherlands in 23, 23 and 21 darts. The longer the game lasted the more the nerves set in with both pairs. Solomons and Talbot forced a deciding leg and took a comfortable lead in it, but 11 match darts were not enough to win the title. The Dutch ladies, who were also clearly nervous, eventually did find the winning double and crowned themselves as World Cup Pairs champions.

Played finals