Updated on 16/08/2017 08:06
Professional Darts Corporation

UK Open 2011

Reebok Stadium, Bolton
From: Thursday 2 June 2011
Till: Sunday 5 June 2011
Prize money:
  1. £40,000
  2. £20,000
  3. £10,000
  4. Q/F £6,000
  5. Last 16 £4,000
  6. Last 32 £2,000
  7. Last 64 £1,000
  1. Total: £200,000

In 2011 the group of contenders for the title is large. Gary Anderson is the reigning Premier League Champion and Adrian Lewis shows consistent form as well. James Wade did not impress during the qualifying tournaments and has to start in the first round in Bolton. This does not trouble The Machine, since he wins his matches in the prelims easily.

The Dutch players do not have a successful tournament. Co Stompé manages to defeat Simon Whitlock in the second round, but loses to Mark Webster one match later. Raymond van Barneveld reaches the last 16, but has an off day against Wes Newton: 1-9.

Surprise of the tournament is Paul Nicholson from Australia. The Asset sends Gary Anderson home at the last 32 and in his next match; Nicholson frustrates Taylor by taking victory in a deciding last leg. James Wade ended his hopes in the quarterfinals, beating him 10-7.

The semi-finals featured Mark Webster in a clash against James Wade and Wes Newton facing Denis Ovens, who reaches his second semi-final in a row in Bolton. Newton and Wade will eventually reach the final and in this match The Machine does what he always does when Taylor is eliminated earlier in the tournament: he claims the trophy.