Updated on 16/08/2017 08:06
Professional Darts Corporation

UK Open 2008

Reebok Stadium, Bolton
From: Thursday 5 June 2008
Till: Sunday 8 June 2008
Prize money:
  1. £35,000
  2. £15,000
  3. £10,000
  4. Q/F £5,000
  5. Last 16 £3,000
  6. Last 32 £2,000
  7. Last 64 £1,000
Other prize money:
  1. Nine darter £25,000
  2. Total: £178,000

Raymond van Barneveld reaches, just like in 2007, the quarterfinals easily. In the quarterfinals, reigning champion Barney sends Phil Taylor home by defeating him 10-9. The other 2007 finalist, Vincent van der Voort, also manages to reach the semi-finals again.

Van Barneveld faces American surprise Gary Mawson in the semis. The crowd loudly supports Mawson and Van Barneveld is obviously annoyed about that. Mawson is able to surprise Barney and produces an upset by reaching the final.

In the final he takes on James Wade, who defeated Vincent van der Voort in the semis. A surprise player in the final in Bolton is tradition, and a not-surprising winner as well. Wade remains calm and beats Mawson 11-7 to claim his first ever UK Open trophy.