Updated on 15/08/2017 21:52
Professional Darts Corporation

The Masters

Upcoming season 2018:
  • {dn} {dl}
  • {hn} {hl}
  • {mn} {ml}
  • {sn} {sl}
From: Friday 26 January 2018
Till: Sunday 28 January 2018
Reigning champion:
Reigning champion of The Masters 2017
Photographer: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

In 2013, The Masters is added to the tournament calendar, at the moment it’s the last Major TV tournament the PDC has added. Only the world’s top 16 players can participate in this invitational tournament. Thus the tournament in structure is very similar to the MFI World Matchplay, which was held in the 80s.

Edinburgh in Scotland is the place where the first two years were played. In 2015, the tournament moved to Milton Keynes in England.

After Phil Taylor won the first edition James Wade wins the second after a rollercoaster final. Opponent Mervyn King goes far ahead, 9-2 and 10-6, but misses a total of eight match darts and gives the lead and the title away. From 2015 Michael van Gerwen dominates with three victories in a row.

Played finals