Updated on 15/08/2017 21:52
Professional Darts Corporation

Premier League

Upcoming season 2018:
  • {dn} {dl}
  • {hn} {hl}
  • {mn} {ml}
  • {sn} {sl}
From: Thursday 1 February 2018
Till: Thursday 17 May 2018
Reigning champion:
Reigning champion of Premier League 2017
Photographer: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

In 2005, introduced by Matchroom Sports as the strongest competition in world darts, the premier league is a travelling darts circus all around Great Britain. The first year all the British players get a home fixture in venues that can roughly house 500-1000 fans. The league is an instant hit especially when Raymond van Barneveld joins the PDC before the second season.

Crowds create absolute bedlam in growing arenas and make it a football like atmosphere. In 2005 and 2006 seven players compete in the league, from 2007 till 2012 this number is eight and in 2013 the field expands to ten players.

Phil Taylor is the most successful player in the league winning the tournament six times. The Power finishes top of the regular competition the first eight times. But from the moment Michael van Gerwen makes his entrance in the league in 2013 the Dutchman always finishes top of the league. Mighty Mike claims the title three times in 2013, 2016 and 2017. Gary Anderson wins it twice in 2011 and 2015. Other champions are James Wade and Raymond van Barneveld.