Updated on 30/11/2017 17:01
Professional Darts Corporation

Players Championship Finals 2017

Butlin's Minehead, Minehead
From: Friday 24 November 2017
Till: Sunday 26 November 2017
Prize money:
  1. £100,000
  2. £40,000
  3. £23,000
  4. Q/F £12,500
  5. Last 16 £8,000
  6. Last 32 £5,000
  7. Last 64 £2,500
  1. Total: £460,000

The tenth edition of the Players Championships Finals was held from November 24 till 26 in Minehead. Michael van Gerwen takes the title for a third year in a row and for the fourth time in his career. In the final, he beats Jonny Clayton who plays his first televised final ever.

A lot of favourites for the title are defeated in the early stages of the tournament. That means that the road to the title opens up very soon for Van Gerwen. Gary Anderson, Raymond van Barneveld and Peter Wright loose their first round games. Also Daryl Gurney, the world's number four and man to beat, Rob Cross can’t reach the final.

The semi-finals have two surprising names: Justin Pipe and Jonny Clayton. Pipe picks up victories over Mark Webster and Daryl Gurney, whilst Clayton defeats Gerwyn Price and Stephen Bunting. In the semi-finals, ‘The Ferret’ wins an exiting match against Rob Cross.