Updated on 23/11/2017 19:09
Professional Darts Corporation

Players Championship Finals 2016

Butlin's Minehead, Minehead
From: Friday 25 November 2016
Till: Sunday 27 November 2016
Prize money:
  1. £75,000
  2. £35,000
  3. £20,000
  4. Q/F £11,500
  5. Last 16 £7,500
  6. Last 32 £5,000
  7. Last 64 £2,000
Other prize money:
  1. Nine darter £35,000
  2. Total: £400,000

The 2016 Players Championships Finals were held from November 25 till 27 in Minehead.

In 2016 Michael van Gerwen won the Players Championship Finals for the third time in his career. Mighty Mike crushed Dave Chisnall 11-3 in the final and knew little opposition during the tournament. Andy Hamilton, Vincent van der Voort, Josh Payne, Raymond van Barneveld and Darren Webster were defeated by Van Gerwen on his way tot he final. Chisnall reached the final by beating Peter Wright in the semifinal. Chizzy overcame Robbie Green, Jelle Klaasen, Jamie Lewis and Kevin Painter in Minehead as well.

For the first time the Players Championship Finals were held with 64 players at two stages. Big surprise in Minehead was the place in the semifinal for Darren Webster, who saw off the likes of Alan Norris and Simon Whitlock. Next to Van Gerwen, Raymond van Barneveld and Christian Kist reached the semifinals as well. Barney lost to Van Gerwen, Kist did not manage to defeat Webster.