Updated on 30/11/2017 17:36
Professional Darts Corporation

Players Championship Finals 2008

Circus Tavern, Purfleet
From: Friday 30 January 2009
Till: Monday 2 February 2009
Prize money:
  1. £50,000
  2. £25,000
  3. £12,500
  4. Q/F £8,500
  5. Last 16 £4,000
  6. Last 32 £2,000
Other prize money:
  1. High finish £2,000
  2. Total: £200,000

In 2009 the first ever Players Championship finals are staged. The top 32 players from the Players Championship Order of Merit during a year get an invitation. Until 2011, the Players Championship finals are always held in the first months of the next year. In 2009 these are the players who collected the most money during the 2008 campaign. Because of this the tournaments is in the statistics as the 2008 edition although played in 2009. In 2011, this tournament is played twice. In the beginning of 2011, the 2010 edition is played. At the end of 2011, the top 32 players of 2011 play their finals at the end of that year. From that year onwards the year on the floor actually ends with this tournament in the same year that the tournaments on the floor are played. The tournament is held at the "holy" ground of PDC darts; The Circus Tavern in Purfleet, London. The same venue that hosted the World Championships for many years.

Phil Taylor wins the first edition of the tournament beating the surprising Scot Robert Thornton in the final. It was Thornton's first major success on TV since joining the PDC. Besides Thornton and Taylor, Ronnie Baxter and James Wade complete the semi-finals line-up.