Updated on 15/08/2017 21:53
Professional Darts Corporation

PDC World Championship 2015

Alexandra Palace, London
From: Thursday 18 December 2014
Till: Sunday 4 January 2015
Prize money:
  1. £250,000
  2. £120,000
  3. £60,000
  4. Q/F £35,000
  5. Last 16 £18,000
  6. Last 32 £12,000
  7. Last 64 £8,000
  8. Last 72 £3,500
Other prize money:
  1. Nine darter £5,000
  2. Total: £1,250,000

The 22nd edition of the PDC World Darts Championship was played from December 18, 2014 to 4 January 2015. Michael van Gerwen started as defending champion, but would lose his title at the Alexandra Palace in London.

The PDC world title went to a Scot for the first time. Gary Anderson beat titleholder Michael van Gerwen in the semi-finals and Phil Taylor in a thrilling final 7-6. Raymond van Barneveld completed the semi-finals line-up. After Jocky Wilson and Les Wallace Anderson is the third Scot with a World Championship title to his name, Wilson and Wallace both won the BDO World Championship.

Phil Taylor and Raymond van Barneveld particularly had a few close matches en route to their semi-final. Kim Huybrechts in the third round pushed Taylor to the extreme and a round later Vincent van der Voort stayed very close to The Power. Van Barneveld had to play a deciding set three times in his victories over Jamie Caven, Adrian Lewis and Stephen Bunting. Gary Anderson had his toughest battle route to the finals in the second round against Jelle Klaasen The Dutchman was in front 3-1 in sets and 2-1 in legs, but Anderson clawed back.

In the first round came the first upsets. Triple world champion John Part lost out to the youth world champion; Keegan Brown. Paul Nicholson lost to Dutchman Benito van de Pas, Wes Newton bowed out to Spaniard Cristo Reyes, but the biggest surprise surely was the defeat of Australian Simon Whitlock who had to bow his head to Darren Webster.

Played finals