Updated on 10/12/2017 09:51
Professional Darts Corporation

PDC World Championship 2013

Alexandra Palace, London
From: Friday 14 December 2012
Till: Tuesday 1 January 2013
Prize money:
  1. £200,000
  2. £100,000
  3. £50,000
  4. Q/F £25,000
  5. Last 16 £15,000
  6. Last 32 £10,000
  7. Last 64 £6,000
  8. Last 72 £3,500
Other prize money:
  1. Nine darter £7,500
  2. Total: £1,000,000

The 20th PDC World Championship was held at the Alexandra Palace in London. From December 14, 2012 to January 1, 2013. Adrian Lewis was the defending champion and he would lose his title to fellow Stoke-on-Trent champion Phil Taylor this year.

This World Championship would be a great edition for the Dutch players Michael van Gerwen and Raymond van Barneveld. Van Gerwen would finally confirm his status this as a top player by reaching the final. In the semi-finals Van Gerwen would throw a nine-darter against James Wade and one leg later missed a second nine-darter in a row on double 12. Raymond van Barneveld came back strongly this year after he had lost in the first round last year. In the first round he recorded an average of 108 during his 3-0 victory over Michael Smith. In the following rounds he would beat a number of, on paper, tough opponents convincingly. Brendan Dolan, Gary Anderson and Simon Whitlock were all defeated by a large margin.

In the semi-finals Barney finally lost to his eternal rival Phil Taylor, though he came back strongly from 1-5 to 4-5. Nevertheless, the victory went to The Power 6-4. Van Gerwen survived two match darts from Adrian Lewis in the quarterfinals and then defeated James Wade in the semi-final 6-4. In the final Van Gerwen went up 2-0 and 4-2, but then dropped in average and Phil Taylor took full advantage winning five sets in a row and claiming his sixteenth world title.

In addition to Michael van Gerwen Dean Winstanley also threw a nine-darter. The Englishman did it in the second round against Vincent van der Voort a match he would go on to lose.

Played finals