Updated on 15/08/2017 21:52
Professional Darts Corporation

PDC World Championship

Upcoming season 2018:
  • {dn} {dl}
  • {hn} {hl}
  • {mn} {ml}
  • {sn} {sl}
From: Thursday 14 December 2017
Till: Monday 1 January 2018
Reigning champion:
Reigning champion of PDC World Championship 2017
Photographer: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Since 1994 the PDC have their own World Championship, a year after sixteen of the best and well known BDO players defect and form the World Darts Council, later to become Professional Darts Corporation (PDC). Especially in the early years, the numbers were made up with USA and exotic players.

The first ever winner is Dennis Priestley beating Phil Taylor in the final. With Taylor you’ve got the name that’s said most in the PDC and their World Championship. Between 1994 and 2007 he is in every final, winning no less than 11. He is crowned champion again in 2009, 2010 and 2013. Dennis Priestley remains to be the only Englishman to beat Taylor on his stage until 2008 when Wayne Mardle beats him in the quarterfinals.

Only other winners are Canadian John Part in 2003 and 2008. Dutchman Raymond van Barneveld in 2007, Adrian Lewis in 2011 and 2012, Michael van Gerwen in 2014 and Gary Anderson in 2015 and 2016.

After his win in 1994 Priestley reaches the final four more times, but he doesn’t win the title any more. Peter Manley reaches three finals, winning only two sets versus Taylor in all those finals combined.

Between 1994 and 2007 the championship is held at the Circus Tavern in Purfleet. In 2008 the championship moves to the Alexandra Palace.

Played finals