Updated on 15/08/2017 21:53
Professional Darts Corporation

Masters of Darts 2005

Expocenter, Hengelo
From: Monday 7 February 2005
Till: Sunday 13 February 2005
Prize money:
  1. €175,000
  2. €100,000
  3. €35,000
  4. Q/F €25,000
  1. Total: €445,000

The first edition of the Masters of Darts, which was held in Hengelo, eight top players of the BDO and PDC competed against each other. The four BDO players were in one group, and the four PDC players in the other. Players then played against the players from the other group. The top two from each group progressed to the semi-finals. Phil Taylor, who defeated Andy Fordham in the final, won the first edition of this tournament.

The Power also played The Viking in the group stage and defeated him 4-2 in sets in the group match. Taylor also beat Tony David, Raymond van Barneveld and Co Stompé 4-0. The much-anticipated match between Taylor and Van Barneveld drew a capacity crowd of 4.800 Dutch fans. A Dutch record in those days.

The darting legend ended the hopes of Van Barneveld in the semi-final, whom he defeated 5-2. In the other semi-final Fordham saw off Roland Scholten, who reached the semi-final despite having lost to Fordham in the group stage already.

Played finals