Updated on 27/09/2017 12:58
Professional Darts Corporation

International Darts Open 2017

Sachsenarena, Riesa
From: Friday 22 September 2017
Till: Sunday 24 September 2017
Prize money:
  1. £25,000
  2. £10,000
  3. £6,000
  4. Q/F £4,000
  5. Last 16 £3,000
  6. Last 32 £2,000
  7. Last 48 £1,000
  1. Total: £135,000

From September 22 to September 24, the third edition of the International Darts Open was held in the Sachsenarena in Riesa. Peter Wright wins an exciting final 6-5 over Belgian ace Kim Huybrechts and takes his fifth EuroTour title of 2017.

Number one seed Wright has a slow start to this tournament, but produces the goods when it really matters. He defeats Chris Quantock, Ronny Huybrechts, Jelle Klaasen and Ron Meulenkamp on his way to the final. Kim Huybrechts has had a slow EuroTour season in 2017 with only one quarterfinal. The last three tournaments he had even lost in the first round.

This tournament Huybrechts succesfully defeats Christian Kist, Ian White, Gerwyn Price and Joe Cullen. In the final Huybrechts leads 3-1 and 4-2, but he is broken back in the eighth leg and after that everything goes with the darts. Wright takes the last leg in 12 darts with a 116 finish.

For Wright this is his sixth EuroTour title, the fifth in 2017. Huybrechts remains on two titles from five finals. It is striking that the only two players who participated in all 51 EuroTour tournaments reached the final this time.

Played finals