Updated on 18/08/2017 08:25
British Darts Organisation

International Darts League 2005

Uithof, The Hague
From: Saturday 7 May 2005
Till: Sunday 15 May 2005
Prize money:
  1. €30,000
  2. €15,000
  3. €7,500
  4. Q/F €4,500
  5. Last 16 €3,000
  6. Last 32 €2,000
Other prize money:
  1. High finish €500
  2. Total: €134,000

The third edition of the International Darts League tournament brought it back to its place of origin, The Hague. From 7 to 15 May it was played at the speed skating center Uithof. The second group phase is no longer being played, from now on it is knock-out from the second round onwards.

For the first time another name would be engraved on the trophy. Raymond van Barneveld first lost in the group stage to Martin Atkins, but that did not stand in his way to get through to the next round. One round later Australia’s Simon Whitlock ended the tournament for Van Barneveld. The top of the seeding list had a difficult year anyway as the number two on that list Tony West did not get through the group stage. The number three, Ted Hankey lost like Van Barneveld in the second round.

That paved the way for Mervyn King, who added a second major television to his name, after his previous victory at the Winmau World Masters in 2004. In the final King beat Tony O'Shea 13-11 in sets.