Updated on 22/11/2017 17:37
Professional Darts Corporation

Grand Slam of Darts 2017

Civic Hall, Wolverhampton
From: Saturday 11 November 2017
Till: Sunday 19 November 2017
Prize money:
  1. £110,000
  2. £55,000
  3. £28,500
  4. Q/F £16,000
  5. Last 16 £10,000
  6. Last 32 £3,000
Other prize money:
  1. 3rd Place Group £2,000
  2. Group Winner Bonus £2,500
  3. Total: £450,000

The Grand Slam of Darts 2016 was held from 11-19 November at the Civic Hall in Wolverhampton. Michael van Gerwen takes the title for a third consecutive year and becomes only the second player after Phil Taylor who could acchieve this.

During the groupstage, Van Gerwen has to play in the same group as the best floorplayer of 2017: Rob Cross. The coming man takes a 4-2 lead against the world champion, but after he misses two matchdarts Van Gerwen walks away with a 5-4 victory. Both men would reach the knock-out stage in the same group with Ross Montgomery and Joe Murnan.

For the second time in the history of the tournament (after 2008), all eight seeded players survives the groupstage. Raymond van Barneveld, Daryl Gurney, Mensur Suljovic and Gary Anderson all win their three matches. Phil Taylor loses his match against James Wade, but after he’s already qualified for the next round. Darren Webster goes to the last sixteen after a 9-dart shootout victory against Mark Webster. ‘The Demolition Man’ throwes a tripple nineteen with his last dart, only to score three more points then his namesake. Only World Champion Glen Durrant survives the groupstage as a BDO player.

Big story during the groupstage is the participation of Berry van Peer. The Dutchman has been struggling for some time with dartitus, and also on the big stage in Wolverhampton his darts won’t leave his hand on a proper way. Suprisingly enough he’s be able to win against Simon Whitlock and Cameron Menzies and goes to the last sixteen. Unfortunately will that be hist last match on this stage after a 10-2 defeat against Mensur Suljovic.

In the first knock-out round, Raymond van Barneveld loses after a great battle against Rob Cross while Michael van Gerwen got no problems against Steve Lennon. The only BDO player Glen Durrant survives his match against Dave Chisnall, but has to leave the tournament after a 16-10 defeat in the quarter final stages against Peter Wright. Gary Anderson, Phil Taylor and Michael van Gerwen (after another great match against Rob Cross) are the other three player who reaches the semi-finals.

The first semi-final would be a match who will be in everybody’s memory for a long time. Peter Wright is 13-7 down against Gary Anderson, but during the break he decides to change his darts setup. After this changement, ‘Snakebite’ will play just fantastic darts and beats his fellow countryman with a 16-15 victory. In the other semi-final, Michael van Gerwen beats Phil Taylor without any problems (16-8). The final between Van Gerwen and Wright is exciting until the score is 10-10. After that, Van Gerwen will take a 16-12 victory and his thirth Grand Slam of Darts title in three years.