Updated on 02/11/2017 09:27
Professional Darts Corporation

Grand Slam of Darts 2014

Civic Hall, Wolverhampton
From: Saturday 8 November 2014
Till: Sunday 16 November 2014
Prize money:
  1. £100,000
  2. £50,000
  3. £25,000
  4. Q/F £15,000
  5. Last 16 £7,500
  6. Last 32 £2,500
Other prize money:
  1. 3rd Place Group £2,500
  2. Group Winner Bonus £2,500
  3. Total: £400,000

The Grand Slam of Darts 2014 was held from November 8 till 16 at the Civic Centre in Wolverhampton. Phil Taylor who beats Dave Chisnall in the final wins the tournament for the sixth time.

The Power has little problems to qualify for the final. In the group stage, he loses only four legs and in the second round he wins 10-4 over Peter Wright. In the quarterfinals, he gets little opposition, 16-3 against Michael Smith and Mervyn King must take a bow in the semi-finals with 16-9. The finale doesn’t seems to be really exciting when Taylor wins the first session 5-0 but Chisnall puts up a great fights. After 18 legs the score is tied again, but Taylor still has a final sprint which Chisnall cannot follow. The outcome is ultimately 16-13.

The big favourite at the start of the tournament is Michael van Gerwen, but the Dutch number one in the world must acknowledge the superiority of the Belgian Kim Huybrechts in the quarterfinals. Huybrechts plays a great match, including a nine-darter and five finishes above 100. The big surprise of the tournament is the 22-year-old Keegan Brown. He defeats Adrian Lewis in the group stage and in round two he beats Raymond van Barneveld. Brown is also ahead in his quarterfinal against Dave Chisnall, but he gives that lead away.

For the BDO players it is not a successful edition. All representatives are out after round two. Robbie Green and Alan Norris are the only two that survive the group stage. Stephen Bunting is the BDO world champion, but following his title in January he switched immediately to the PDC. The Bullet gets to the quarterfinals in Wolverhampton.