Updated on 02/11/2017 08:57
Professional Darts Corporation

Grand Slam of Darts 2013

Civic Hall, Wolverhampton
From: Saturday 9 November 2013
Till: Sunday 17 November 2013
Prize money:
  1. £100,000
  2. £50,000
  3. £25,000
  4. Q/F £15,000
  5. Last 16 £7,500
  6. Last 32 £2,500
Other prize money:
  1. High finish £0
  2. 3rd Place Group £2,500
  3. Group Winner Bonus £2,500
  4. Total: £400,000

In 2013 Phil Taylor wins the Grand Slam of Darts for the fifth time. The Power is in great form and has no problem getting through the group stage. He also makes it look easy getting to the semi-finals. In it, he must take on city rival Adrian Lewis in what will be an amazing game. Both men are in top form and play in what probably is the best game ever. The first 16 legs are shares equally, but then The Power rushes towards the victory. With 32 maximums and an average of 109.76 for Taylor and Lewis on 110.99 it’s a game that will not be forgotten. The final is a lot less memorable. The Scot Robert Thornton plays very solid throughout the whole tournament, but is no match for Taylor in the final.

Defending champion Raymond van Barneveld wins his first two group matches, but that is not enough to get through the group stage. A defeat in the final group match against Mervyn King is fatal. The other Dutch players don’t really make an impact either. Wesley Harms, Vincent van der Voort and Christian Kist also go out in the group stage. Only Michael van Gerwen goes through to the second round, but there he clashes with Adrian Lewis. It is a great match, but Van Gerwen has to bow down to the twice world champion.

From the BDO players Scott Waites again plays excellent; he reaches the semi-final in which the aforementioned Robert Thornton proves too strong. Ted Hankey is also back a year after he suffered a stroke on the very same stage. And Hankey left an impression this year. Particularly his fight against Simon Whitlock in the second round is impressive. The Count is 1-6 behind, but manages to turn the tide and eventually win 10-9. A round later the tournament is over when Waites defeats him.

In the second round history is made when the brothers Ronny and Kim Huybrechts from Belgium play each other. It’s the first time in history that two brothers face each other in front of the cameras on a big TV stage.