Updated on 15/08/2017 21:53
Professional Darts Corporation

German Darts Championship 2016

Halle 39, Hildesheim
From: Friday 14 October 2016
Till: Sunday 16 October 2016
Prize money:
  1. £25,000
  2. £10,000
  3. £5,000
  4. Q/F £3,500
  5. Last 16 £2,000
  6. Last 32 £1,500
  7. Last 48 £1,000
  1. Total: £115,000

The fifth edition of the German Darts Championship will have a new winner. From October 14 till 16 Alan Norris is the strongest in Hildesheim. In the final he defeats Dutchman Jelle Klaasen 6-5.

En route to the final Norris successively defeats Scott Taylor, Ian White, Steve West and Mensur Suljovic. Klaasen in turn is too strong for Rowby-John Rodriguez, Cristo Reyes, Joe Cullen and Dave Chisnall. The number one in the ranking list, Michael van Gerwen loses in the last 16 to the Northern Irishman Daryl Gurney. It is only the third defeat for Van Gerwen on the EuroTour this year.

With this win, Alan Norris becomes the twentieth player who wins a EuroTour tournament.