Updated on 15/08/2017 21:53
Professional Darts Corporation

German Darts Championship 2012

Tempodrom, Berlin
From: Friday 22 June 2012
Till: Sunday 24 June 2012
Prize money:
  1. £15,000
  2. £7,500
  3. £5,000
  4. Q/F £3,000
  5. Last 16 £1,500
  6. Last 32 £1,000
  7. Last 64 £200
  1. Total: £78,900

In 2012 the PDC launches the Euro Tour. On the European continent, the Pro Tour tournaments disappear and the tournaments are played on big stages with big audiences in the venue.

In the first year there are five tournaments in the series. The Netherlands and Austria each get one stop and Germany is visited three times. Sixty-four players compete in the first round on two stages. From the second round the tournament continues on one stage.

The German Darts Championship 2012 was played in Berlin. Phil Taylor is the inaugural champion; he beats Dave Chisnall in the final. The Power gets the most opposition from the Netherlands. In the first round, Jerry Hendriks plays very well, but Taylor still wins 6-4. In the quarterfinals he even needs a deciding leg to beat Raymond van Barneveld.

Colin Lloyd makes the tournament complete by hitting a nine-darter in his first round match against Alex Roy.