Updated on 15/08/2017 21:52
British Darts Organisation

Finder Darts Masters Men

Upcoming season 2017:
  • {dn} {dl}
  • {hn} {hl}
  • {mn} {ml}
  • {sn} {sl}
From: Friday 8 December 2017
Till: Sunday 10 December 2017
Reigning champion:
Reigning champion of Finder Darts Masters Men 2016
Photographer: Evert Zomer

As successor of the European Grand Masters, which were held at various locations in the Netherlands in 1995 and 1996, the Grand Masters appear on the calendar in 2000. The first edition is played in Hardenberg.

The tournament is sponsored from 2001 to 2004 by the ‘Doeland’ chain of DIY stores before in 2005 a one-year cooperation with Leendesk secures the tournament. From 2007 until 2014 Hotel Zuiderduin, who have hosted the tournament since 2001, become the main sponsor. Since 2015 Finder is the new title sponsor.

The tournament is very popular with players and officials because they are looked after so exceptionally well. However, the tournament has got great difficulties in getting big national TV channels to broadcast their tournament. In 2007 they make a deal with the regional TV station North Holland.

The tournament has traditionally had a first round group phase, and then from the second round on it is knockout. Because the tournament is played in Holland and every year the organisers have a few wildcards to give, there are many Dutch names in the draws. However, there is only one Dutchman who wins the tournament, Raymond van Barneveld wins it three times in 2001, 2003 and 2004.

Gary Anderson and Glen Durrant are the only two other players who managed to win the tournament twice and both also do achieve this in consecutive years. Furthermore, there are a lot of big names, often world champions on the cup such as Martin Adams, Scott Waites, Stephen Bunting and Tony David.