Updated on 29/11/2017 20:43
Professional Darts Corporation

European Championships 2017

Ethias Arena, Hasselt
From: Thursday 26 October 2017
Till: Sunday 29 October 2017
Prize money:
  1. £100,000
  2. £40,000
  3. £20,000
  4. Q/F £15,000
  5. Last 16 £10,000
  6. Last 32 £5,000
Other prize money:
  1. Nine darter £25,000
  2. Total: £400,000

The tenth edition of the European Championship was held once again in Hasselt/Belgium. Michael van Gerwen could lay his hands on the trophy for a fourth consecutive year.

A lot of ‘big boys’ didn’t play at regular base or didn’t play at all at the EuroTour in 2017. That’s the reason the players list for the European Championships is different than other years. Players like Phil Taylor, Adrian Lewis, James Wade and Raymond van Barneveld are not present in Hasselt.

Michael van Gerwen offcourse plays his games in Belgium. After easy victories against Jan Dekker and Ian White, he would play his quarter finals game against Simon Whitlock. Van Gerwen is the only Dutchman in this stage of the tournament, after second round losses by Benito van de Pas and Jelle Klaasen.

From the eight placed players, only Joe Cullen could reach the second round. Stephen Bunting takes the victory in a deciding leg. Number two, three and four of the placement list (Peter Wright, Michael Smith and Mensur Suljovic) all drop out of the tournament in the quarter finals.

The semi-finals match between Michael van Gerwen and Kyle Anderson becomes a thriller. Anderson throwes eleven 180’s and produces a ninedart leg in the eleventh leg of the match. Unfortunately, the Australian could not reach the final. He misses two match darts in the 21st leg. In the other semi-final, Rob Cross reaches his first ever major final after an easy victory against Daryl Gurney.

The final would be a convincing victory for Michael van Gerwen. The Dutchman does have some problems with Cross in the begin of the match, but at the end Van Gerwen takes a comfortable 11-7 victory. With that win, he becomes the second player who takes the title for times after Phil Taylor.