Updated on 25/10/2017 09:56
Professional Darts Corporation

European Championships 2012

RWE Sporthalle, Mulheim an der Ruhr
From: Thursday 20 September 2012
Till: Sunday 23 September 2012
Prize money:
  1. £50,000
  2. £20,000
  3. £10,000
  4. Q/F £7,500
  5. Last 16 £5,000
  6. Last 32 £2,500
Other prize money:
  1. High finish £0
  2. Total: £0

In 2012, the European Championships is staged for the fifth time and played in a different venue for the fifth time too. However the tournament remains in Germany for the third year in a row, this year Müelheim is the host. No less than six Dutch compatriots get a chance at the title in 2012, but again none of them will reach the final. Co Stompe loses for the fourth year in a row in the first round, this year Richie Burnett proves too strong for the man from Lelystad. Dave Chisnall beats Gino Vos on his debut and Vincent van der Voort also sees his tournament end after one round. Kim Huybrechts is too strong for our compatriot. In the five times he has participated in this tournament he has never survived the first round. Positive exception to all the Dutch suffering is the form of Jerry Hendriks. He gets through the first round by beating Austrian Mensur Suljovic and leaves the stage with his head up high after a great battle against Phil Taylor in round two which he loses, but defeat is not big with 7-10. 

Michael van Gerwen and Raymond van Barneveld clash in the second round after victories over Andy Smith and Terry Jenkins respectively in the first round. It's Barney who claims victory in the 19th and decisive leg . However, a round later the tournament is without a Dutchman when Van Barneveld loses to Kim Huybrechts. For Phil Taylor the quarterfinal this year is also his terminus. Northern Irishman Brendan Dolan puts an end to a series of 22 games without defeat for Taylor when he wins with 10-6. Traditionally, the player who beats Taylor in the tournament does not win the tournament; Dolan loses in the semi-finals to Wes Newton.

Ultimately the final in 2012 is between Wes Newton and Simon Whitlock. Both men have never won a major TV tournament and it is the Australian Simon Whitlock who puts an end to that series. He wins the final comfortably, to the great enthusiasm of the German public, which have adopted Whitlock as their favourite. Whitlock has a German girlfriend in 2012 and that helps him tremendously during this tournament. So an Australian wins the European Championship in 2012.