Updated on 01/11/2017 15:03
Professional Darts Corporation

European Championships 2011

Maritim Hotel Düsseldorf, Düsseldorf
From: Thursday 28 July 2011
Till: Sunday 31 July 2011
Prize money:
  1. £50,000
  2. £20,000
  3. £10,000
  4. Q/F £7,500
  5. Last 16 £5,000
  6. Last 32 £2,500
Other prize money:
  1. High finish £0
  2. Total: £200,000

In 2011 the European Championships is played for the fourth time and for the fourth time in a different city. However, the tournament stays in Germany, this year 's Düsseldorf is the host. In the atmospheric Maritim Hotel 32 players gather. In the final the numbers one and two in the world play each other. Phil Taylor proves ones again that he is still the best player in the world. In the final he beat world champion Adrian Lewis 11-8 in a wonderful match. For the fourth year in a row, Taylor wins the title. 

Five Duchies are in the draw, but after one round only Raymond van Barneveld is still in. Co Stompé, Vincent van der Voort, Jelle Klaasen and Michael van Gerwen all fall at the first hurdle. Van Barneveld beats Andy Hamilton in the first round and then goes on to defeat Mark Walsh and James Wade. Thus he reaches the semi-finals where he will then lose to Adrian Lewis in a sizzling match. Lewis and Van Barneveld stay close together and put on a great show including a 9-dart finish by the Englishman. Jackpot will eventually win the match by breaking Van Barneveld in the deciding leg with a 121 finish in 12 darts.

Another European player makes a little name for himself for the first time. Belgian ace Kim Huybrechts defeats Antonio Alcinas and number seven seed Wes Newton before narrowly losing to Lewis.