Updated on 25/10/2017 15:53
Professional Darts Corporation

European Championships 2009

Claus Event Center, Hoofddorp
From: Thursday 29 October 2009
Till: Sunday 1 November 2009
Prize money:
  1. £50,000
  2. £20,000
  3. £10,000
  4. Q/F £7,500
  5. Last 16 £5,000
  6. Last 32 £2,500
Other prize money:
  1. High finish £0
  2. Total: £200,000

In 2009 the tournament moves to the Netherlands and is played in Hoofddorp. No less than eight Dutch are in the draw. Raymond van Barneveld, Vincent van der Voort, Jelle Klaasen, Roland Scholten, Co Stompé, Toon Greebe, Remco van Eijden and Michael van Gerwen are there to uphold the Dutch honours.

After one round, there are only three Dutchmen left in the tournament. Michael van Gerwen loses in the second round to Steve Beaton 9-7 and Van Barneveld goes down in the same round. He gives away a 6-1 lead against Mark Walsh. Jelle Klaasen is the only one who wins in round two. He plays very strong against Jamie Caven and wins a close encounter with 9-8. In the quarterfinals he also beats Colin Lloyd 10-5. Unfortunately for the young Dutchman in the semi’s he is overrun by the intercity called Phil Taylor.

Taylor will also not be stopping this year. Each round he throws an average above 109 and no one can live with that. At the end of the tournament he has the highest tournament average ever and loses only 11 legs in the whole tournament. In the quarterfinal against Gary Anderson he has the incredible average of 118.14 and that is with Anderson giving great opposition. The Scot averages over 106 per throw, but that's only good enough to win 3 legs. In the final, Taylor takes on a veteran, Steve Beaton. Beaton has an excellent tournament in which he beats James Wade amongst others in the semi-finals. Yet it is not enough to win the tournament because in the final Taylor again proves to strong and wins comfortably 11-3.