Updated on 25/10/2017 16:08
Professional Darts Corporation

European Championships 2008

Südbahnhof, Frankfurt
From: Thursday 30 October 2008
Till: Sunday 2 November 2008
Prize money:
  1. £50,000
  2. £25,000
  3. £12,500
  4. Q/F £8,500
  5. Last 16 £4,000
  6. Last 32 £2,000
Other prize money:
  1. High finish £2,000
  2. Total: £200,000

In 2008, the European Darts Championship is put on the calendar. With the idea to give the players of the European continent more chance to play in tournaments on TV. Therefore, besides the top 16 of the Order of Merit and the top of the Players Championship Order of Merit, the best players in the European Order of Merit can participate in this tournament.

The first edition is played in Frankfurt, Germany. In the first year 'only' four Europeans from the European Order of Merit get in. The only one of these four to survive the first round is the Spaniard Carlos Rodriguez. Like many tournaments Phil Taylor also dominates this tournament. He blasts through the field with apparent ease and wins the final by beating Adrian Lewis 11-5 to crown himself the first European Darts Champion.

The first edition of the European Championship has five Dutch players in it. Raymond van Barneveld, Vincent van der Voort, Jelle Klaasen, Roland Scholten and Jan van der Rassel. Only Klaasen and Van Barneveld survive the first round. Klaasen is victorious against the worlds number 6, Colin Lloyd. Klaasen loses a round later to Alan Tabern and Van Barneveld loses in the quarterfinals to Adrian Lewis in a fantastic match 9-2. The average of Barney is over 102, but Lewis does even better with 108,60.