Updated on 15/08/2017 21:52
Professional Darts Corporation

European Championships

Upcoming season 2017:
  • {dn} {dl}
  • {hn} {hl}
  • {mn} {ml}
  • {sn} {sl}
From: Friday 27 October 2017
Till: Sunday 29 October 2017
Reigning champion:
Reigning champion of European Championships 2016

In 2008, the PDC introduced the first European Darts Championship. It is held in Frankfurt in Germany and played over three days. To provide players outside Great Britain more chance to qualify for this kind of tournaments, a special continental European ranking is made. The best four players from this list can participate in the European Darts Championship. This is why no less than five Dutch, two Austrians, a German and a Spaniard play in the first edition.

In 2008, the tournament is played in Frankfurt in Germany, but in 2009 the tournament in relocated to the Netherlands. It is played in Hoofddorp. In 2010 the tournament returns to Germany. Dinslaken is where the tournament is staged. A year later Düsseldorf is the new home of the European Championship but in 2012 it moves again, this time to Müelheim. In 2015 Belgium stages this tournament.

The name of Phil Taylor is on the cup four times. Michael van Gerwen has won the tournament three times; other winners are Simon Whitlock and Adrian Lewis.

Twice in the history of this tournament a nine darter is thrown; Adrian Lewis in 2011 and in 2014 Michael van Gerwen. It is remarkable that both players do this in the semi-final and both do it against Raymond van Barneveld.