Updated on 06/09/2017 12:42
Professional Darts Corporation

Dutch Darts Masters

Reigning champion:
Reigning champion of Dutch Darts Masters 2017
Photographer: PDC Europe

In 2012 the PDC launches the Euro Tour. On the European continent, the Pro Tour tournaments disappear. The tournaments are played on big stages in front of big audiences.

The Dutch Darts Masters are on the calendar from the first year. In 2012 the tournament is played in Nuland where the Pro Tour tournaments were held in previous years. The tournament is moved to Veldhoven in 2013 where it is played in the Koningshof. In 2015 the tournament moves again to a bigger venue. The Evenementenhal in Venray holds 5.000 fans and is the biggest EuroTour venue at that time. Nevertheless, the tournament moves again two years later, now to the MECC in Maastricht.

Michael van Gerwen is the dominant player this tournament. With four consecutive wins between 2014 and 2017, he ensures that the Dutch public gets their perfect winner. Kim Huybrechts wins the title in 2013 and Simon Whitlock wins the inaugural edition in 2012.