Updated on 30/08/2017 09:49
Professional Darts Corporation

Dubai Darts Masters 2017

Dubai Tennis Stadium, Dubai
From: Wednesday 24 May 2017
Till: Thursday 25 May 2017
Prize money:
  1. £20,000
  2. £10,000
  3. £5,000
  4. Q/F £2,500
  1. Total: £50,000

The Dubai Darts Masters 2017 was played on 24 and 25 May, for the fifth consecutive year in the Tennis Stadium of Dubai. The participants in this edition were Michael van Gerwen, Phil Taylor, Gary Anderson, Peter Wright, James Wade, Raymond van Barneveld, Dave Chisnall and debutant Gerwyn Price.

The winner would be the same as last year, the losing finalist also. Michael van Gerwen beats fellow countryman Raymond van Barneveld in the quarterfinals and Gerwyn Price in the semi-finals. Price beats James Wade in the first round on his World Tour debut. Gary Anderson wins his quarterfinal with ample figures over a below par Phil Taylor with 10-3. In the semi-final, he then wins the Scottish battle against Peter Wright.

The final is a memorable game in which both players show their absolute best game. Up to 5-3, Van Gerwen is in charge, but then Anderson comes back very well. He wins eight of the last ten legs, hits 12 maximums 180 and 50% on his doubles in the match. The average of Anderson is a staggering 110.88 not much higher though than that of his Dutch opponent who puts 110.46 on the scoreboard.

For the second time in a row, Gary Anderson wins the Dubai Duty Free Darts Masters, his fourth World Series victory. The Scot has never lost a final on the World Tour yet. For Van Gerwen it was his fifth consecutive final in Dubai.