Updated on 15/08/2017 21:52
Professional Darts Corporation

Desert Classic

Reigning champion:
Reigning champion of Desert Classic 2009
Photographer: PDC/Lawrence Lustig

The Las Vegas Desert Classic is organized eight times between 2002 and 2009. The PDC is eager to expand and conquer new markets. The first four years the tournament is held at the MGM Grand Hotel and the last four years at the Mandalay Bay Hotel.

The event is considered hard to play, because the matches are played early in the morning. All to do with the fact that European broadcasters want to show the darts live on TV and at the most suitable hours for them. Still, the tournament is also very popular among the players who experience it as a unique opportunity to combine vacation with their sport. 

In 2002 16 of the best PDC players gather in the MGM Grand Hotel in Las Vegas to play the first Desert Classic. Since 2004 the event is “complete” with a field of 32 players. At least four come from North America and there are no less than 16 qualification spots in total, to make it interesting for the European players to fly across the ocean.  


In 2003 the event is very successful for Peter Manley, winning his first and only major TV event. Phil Taylor’s name again appears most on the trophy, but also Canadian John Part usually plays very well so close to home, even winning the event in 2006. In 2007 Las Vegas gets its Dutch champion when Raymond van Barneveld plays some superior darts to take the title. In 2009 Sky Sport announces that this year will be their last year in the USA with that announcement the tournament has his last edition that year.