Updated on 13/09/2017 14:02
Professional Darts Corporation

Champions League of Darts 2016

Motorpoint Arena, Cardiff
From: Saturday 24 September 2016
Till: Sunday 25 September 2016
Prize money:
  1. £100,000
  2. £50,000
  3. £25,000
  4. Last 6 £15,000
  5. Last 8 £10,000
  1. Total: £250,000

In the Motorpoint Arena in Cardiff the first edition of the Champions League of Darts was held on 24 and 25 September. Phil Taylor claims the inaugural edition by beating Michael van Gerwen 11-5 in the final.

In the group stage Taylor also beats Michael van Gerwen this time 10-4. In the same group Robert Thornton and Peter Wright get knocked out. In the other group Gary Anderson wins all his games and therefore will advance to the semi-finals. James Wade joins him at the expense of Adrian Lewis and Michael Smith.

Both semi-finals are one-sided. Van Gerwen beats Anderson 11-5 and Taylor beats James Wade 11-3. In the final Phil Taylor is also too strong for Mighty Mike. It is first TV title for The Power on British soil since the Grand Slam of Darts 2014.

Played finals