Updated on 15/08/2017 21:52
British Darts Organisation

BDO World Championship Men 2015

Lakeside Country Club, Frimley Green
From: Saturday 3 January 2015
Till: Sunday 11 January 2015
Prize money:
  1. £100,000
  2. £35,000
  3. £15,000
  4. Q/F £6,500
  5. Last 16 £4,500
  6. Last 32 £3,250
  7. Last 40 £2,000
Other prize money:
  1. High finish £5,000
  2. Total: £300,000

The Lakeside World Professional Darts Championship 2015 was held from 3-11 January. For the thirtieth time the Lakeside Country Club in Frimley Green was the host for the tournament.

There would come a new name on the trophy in 2015. Englishman Scott Mitchell won a thrilling final 7-6 in sets of Martin Adams. Mitchell certainly did not get is easy this year. In the first round he already had a sudden-death leg shootout against another veteran; Tony O'Shea. He then beat Geert de Vos, Brian Dawson and Jeff Smith en route to the final.

For Martin Adams it was his first final in three years. Wolfie survived a number of matchdarts against Glen Durrant in the semi-finals. His other matches were won against Jan Dekker, Jim Widmayer and Ross Montgomery.

Already in the first round the first ranked James Wilson went out. He lost to the Swede Peter Sajwani. But he was not alone. The number five in the world and reigning Winmau World Master Martin Phillips went home after one match at the expense of Madars Razma. The number eight of the seeding list Wesley Harms also went down. The Canadian Jeff Smith defeated the Dutchman and would get to the semi-finals.

None of the seven Dutch players who played Lakeside this year passed the first round. Only Michel van der Horst won his first match, but that was a preliminary round match. Since 1992, it had not happened that there was no Dutchman in round two of the Lakeside World Professional Darts Championship.

Played finals