Updated on 15/08/2017 21:52
British Darts Organisation

BDO World Championship Men 2005

Lakeside Country Club, Frimley Green
From: Saturday 1 January 2005
Till: Sunday 9 January 2005
Prize money:
  1. £50,000
  2. £25,000
  3. £11,000
  4. Q/F £6,000
  5. Last 16 £4,250
  6. Last 32 £2,750
Other prize money:
  1. High finish £2,000
  2. Total: £200,000

The 2005 Lakeside World Professional Darts Championship saw Raymond van Barneveld lifting the title for a fourth time, defeating England captain Martin Adams 6–2 in the final. The defending champion Andy Fordham was unseeded for this year and suffered a first round loss to number 8 seed Vincent van der Voort.

Only one seeded player lost in the first round as Finland’s Marko Kantele beat England’s Tony O’Shea. Australia’s 2002 World Champion Tony David lost first round to Tony Eccles but another Australian made a real impression on this stage at his debut. Simon Whitlock beat Tony Martin, Marko Kantele and André Brantjes to reach the semi final in which he lost to Martin Adams.

Eventual champion Raymond van Barneveld lost no sets in his first three matches against Gary Anderson, Mike Veitch and fellow countryman Vincent van der Voort. In the semi final Darryl Fitton took three sets of the Dutchman but had to be satisfied with his semi final spot.

Played finals