Updated on 15/08/2017 21:52
British Darts Organisation

BDO World Championship Men 1992

Lakeside Country Club, Frimley Green
From: Friday 3 January 1992
Till: Saturday 11 January 1992
Prize money:
  1. £28,000
  2. £14,000
  3. £7,000
  4. Q/F £3,500
  5. Last 16 £2,600
  6. Last 32 £1,600
Other prize money:
  1. High finish £1,000
  2. Total: £117,400

With Eric Bristow and defending champion Dennis Priestley both going out in round two, the way was paved for the top two seeds, Phil Taylor and Mike Gregory, to make it to the final – notably, the first since the inauguration of the World Championship in 1978 that neither featured Bristow nor John Lowe.

In a titanic affair, full of big scores and high checkouts, it went to the final set and a tiebreak, where Gregory missed two chances each at double 8, double top and double 10 for the title. It also made Gregory the first and only player to miss darts at double to win a world championship and eventually lose.

Taylor took full advantage and sent the match to a sudden-death leg, which he won to take his second World title.

Another icon of the oche, Jocky Wilson lost in his first round battle against Kevin Kenny. It was the first time since he appeared at the World Championships in 1979 that the Scotsman didn’t make it to the quarterfinals in which he appeared 13 times in a row, a feat which to this day hasn’t been match at this World Championship. 1992 Was also the last year Dutchman ‘Big’ Bert Vlaardingerbroek played on this stage loosing for the fourth time in a row this year to Martin Phillips.

Played finals