Updated on 15/08/2017 21:52
British Darts Organisation

BDO World Championship Men 1991

Lakeside Country Club, Frimley Green
From: Friday 4 January 1991
Till: Saturday 12 January 1991
Prize money:
  1. £26,000
  2. £13,000
  3. £6,500
  4. Q/F £3,250
  5. Last 16 £2,400
  6. Last 32 £1,500
Other prize money:
  1. High finish £1,000
  2. Total: £109,200

The 1991 Embassy World Darts Championship was held at the Lakeside Country Club in Frimley Green, Surrey from 4–12 January 1991. Phil Taylor was the reigning World Champion and started off well in the early rounds, before losing in the quarter-finals to Dennis Priestley who took the title.

January 5th saw future champion Raymond Barneveld from Holland make his Lakeside debut, however 11 legs later it was all over. Keith Sullivan dropping just two legs in the battle of the debutants. A first round clash saw Peter Evison (seeded 2) against twice champion John Lowe. The Game, a very tight affair, saw Evison edge through 3-2 with a 91.02 average. The first time, Lowe had been eliminated in the first round at the World Championships.

Dennis Priestley knocked out number one seed Phil Taylor in the quarter finals before he beat 1988 Champion Bob Anderson in the semi finals. In the final he whitewashed number three seed and five times champion Eric Bristow. It was Bristow’s tenth and last final appearance at a World Championship. Priestley became the third player after Keith Deller in 1983 and Taylor in 1990 to win the Embassy at their first try, not including Leighton Rees who won the first ever edition

Played finals