Updated on 15/08/2017 21:52
British Darts Organisation

BDO World Championship Men

Upcoming season 2018:
  • {dn} {dl}
  • {hn} {hl}
  • {mn} {ml}
  • {sn} {sl}
From: Saturday 6 January 2018
Till: Sunday 14 January 2018
Reigning champion:
Reigning champion of BDO World Championship Men 2017
Photographer: David Gill/BDO

The first World Professional Darts Championships took place in 1978. Due to its sponsorship by Imperial Tobacco, it became simply known as “the Embassy”. The first year was the only year that the tournament was played in a Matchplay format of legs, rather than sets which came into operation from 1979 onwards.

BBC Television covered the event and began a long broadcasting partnership with the BDO. The championships became possible when Mike Watterson, a snooker promoter came up with the idea whilst sat in a barber's chair in 1977. Imperial Tobacco, who already sponsored the World Snooker Championship with their Embassy brand were also interested and with Watterson promoting the event Imperial also signed up to the darts version, which they were to sponsor for 25 years. The relationship only ended when the UK government decided to end tobacco companies right to sponsor sporting events.

It was first played in Nottingham in 1978, and moved to Jollies in Stoke-on-Trent the following year. From 1986 it has taken place at the Lakeside Country Club in Frimley Green, where it remains to this day.

Englishman Eric Bristow is the most successful player in the tournament’s history, reaching 10 finals in 16 appearances, winning the title a record 5 times. The most successful Dutch player is Raymond van Barneveld, winning the title in 1998, 1999, 2003 & 2005 and being runner up in 1995 & 2006. But also John Lowe and Martin Adams who each have three titles to their names must not be over looked. In 1990 Phil Taylor wins his first World Title in this tournament.

Another memorable moment is without doubt Paul Lim’s magical 9-dart finish in 1990. The former Singapore player, representing USA, remains the only player in history to achieve this feat in a World Championship.

Played finals