Updated on 15/08/2017 21:53
Professional Darts Corporation

Austrian Darts Open 2012

Arena Nova, Wiener Neustadt
From: Friday 27 April 2012
Till: Sunday 29 April 2012
Prize money:
  1. £15,000
  2. £7,500
  3. £5,000
  4. Q/F £3,000
  5. Last 16 £1,500
  6. Last 32 £1,000
  7. Last 64 £200
  1. Total: £78,900

In 2012 the PDC launches the Euro Tour. On the European continent, the Pro Tour tournaments disappear and the tournaments are played on big stages with big audiences in the venue.

In the first year there are five tournaments in the series. The Netherlands and Austria each get one stop and Germany is visited three times. Sixty-four players compete in the first round on two stages. From the second round the tournament continues on one stage.

The Austrian Darts Open 2012 is the first Euro Tour tournament ever and gets Justin Pipe as champion. He beats James Wade in the final, but also beats Raymond van Barneveld and Gary Anderson en route to the title. Incidentally, the numbers one and two of the world; Phil Taylor and Adrian Lewis choose not to play at this first ever EuroTour tournament.

Two nine darters will be thrown this weekend in Austria. First the young Englishman Michael Smith accomplishes this feat against Jamie Caven, this happens on stage two, a day later Simon Whitlock does the same, this time on the main stage against Joe Cullen.

Played finals